TOT 0-1 CHE: What Former Tottenham Midfielder Redknapp Said About Penalty Decision.

Former Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Jamie Redknapp has had his say on whether or not Spurs should have had a penalty during the 1-0 loss to Chelsea.

The north Londoners lost the first leg of the Carabao Cup semi-final 2-0 at Stamford Bridge and went 1-0 down on Wednesday night after Antonio Rudiger headed the ball past Pierluigi Gollini in the 18th minute.

Antonio Conte’s side were then handed a lifeline shortly before the break, with Rudiger adjudged to have fouled Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg in the penalty area before Andre Marriner pointed to the spot.

However, Marriner’s decision was overturned by VAR after replays shows the foul took place outside the box before a free kick was given instead.

Redknapp then had his say on the incident, admitting that the right decision was given in the end.

Speaking to Sky Sports at half-time, he said: “My first though is why is Rudiger when he is certainly going to outpace Hojbjerg, why is he even going in for the challenge there.

“Once he gets in the box, he’s lucky that VAR has intervened otherwise the referee would have given the penalty.

“It’s a really poor decision. But, they’ve gotten there in the end and are very lucky it’s outside the box.”

Marriner awarded Tottenham another penalty in the second half after Kepa Arrizabalaga tackled Lucas Moura but was told to consult the pitchside monitor before overturning his decision again.

The Lillywhites misery continued when VAR showed that Harry Kane was offside after the England captain had put the ball in the back of the net shortly after the hour.

%d bloggers like this: